Baptism literally means "immersion" and "submersion". The picture usually is of a vessel immersed in water to clean it thoroughly.

5 Kinds of Baptisms
1. Baptism of Repentance (Mark 1:4; Acts 19:4)
2. Baptism of Regeneration, Resurrection, or New Life (Rom.6:4; Col.2:12; 1Pet.3:21)
3. Baptism of Suffering, Death, and Resurrection of Jesus (Luke 12:5)
4. Baptism of the Holy Spirit (Mark 1:8; Acts 1:5)
5. Baptism of Fire (Matt.3:11, i.e. judgment, Luke 3:17)

4 Dispensations of Baptism
1. The Age of Human Government - Noah and his family were baptized into a covenant of the promise of life (1Pet.3:21; Gen.9:13-16)
2. The Age of Law - The children of Israel were baptized into Moses (1Cor.10:2)
3. The Time of John - People were baptized into John's baptism (Acts 19:3)
4. The Age of the Church - Believers are baptized into Christ (Rom.6:3; 1Cor.12:13; Gal.3:27)

3 Baptizers
1. John the Baptist baptized with the baptism of repentance (Matt.3:1,2; Mark 1:4)
2. The Spirit baptizes us into Christ (1Cor.12:13)
3. Jesus baptizes us with the Holy Spirit (Matt.3:11; Acts 1:5)


Popular posts from this blog

Couplets (Dohas) by Rahim and Kabir With English Meanings

The Call of Moses: The First Excuse (Exodus 3)

Fight Against Corruption